People

ARCAA Team PhotoMeet the ARCAA crew – our team of specialist research scientists, engineers, academics, professional staff, PhD and Masters students all have one thing in common, a passion for aerospace automation. Find out more about what makes us tick with full staff biographies below.

Research & Academic Staff

Duncan Campbell, Director
Professor Duncan Campbell Director Phone: 07 3138 9267 Email: da.campbell@qut.edu.au QUT ePints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Campbell,_Duncan.html Professor Duncan Campbell is Director of the Australian Research Centre for Aerospace Automation (ARCAA), and currently serves as Treasurer of the Australian Association for Unmanned Systems (AAUS) Board.
Read more
Dr Luis Mejias, Deputy Director
Associate Professor Luis Mejias Deputy Director Phone: 07 3138 1411 Email: luis.mejias@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Mejias,_Luis.html Associate Professor Luis Mejias Alvarez is a Senior Lecturer in UAVs in the Science and Engineering Faculty at QUT.
Read more
Dr Felipe Gonzalez, Senior Lecturer
Associate Professor Felipe Gonzalez Associate Professor,UAV Phone: 07 3138 1363 Email: felipe.gonzalez@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Gonzalez,_Felipe.html Associate Professor Luis Felipe Gonzalez Toro is a member of the Robotics and Autonomous Systems Discipline in the Science and Engineering Faculty, QUT.
Read more
Dr Troy Bruggemann, Accelerate Research Fellow
Dr Troy Bruggemann Accelerate Research Fellow Phone: 07 3138 9807 Email: t.bruggemann@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Bruggemann,_Troy.html Dr Troy Bruggemann joined ARCAA in 2005 as a PhD student at QUT under the supervision of late Professor Rodney Walker.
Read more
Dr Aaron Mcfadyen, Accelerate Research Fellow
Dr Aaron Mcfadyen Accelerate Research Fellow Phone: 07 3138 8497 Email: aaron.mcfadyen@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Mcfadyen,_Aaron.html Dr Aaron Mcfadyen joined ARCAA in 2010 as a PhD student under the supervision of Dr Luis Mejias and Professor Peter Corke.
Read more
Dr Jonathan Kok, Research Associate
Dr Jonathan Kok Research Associate Phone: 07 3138 9803 Email: j.kok@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Kok,_Jonathan.html Dr Jonathan Kok joined ARCAA as a Research Assistant in 2013, working on the Automated Emergency Landing System stream of Project ResQu.
Read more
Professor Peter Corke, Professor of Robotic Vision
Professor Peter Corke Professor of Robotic Vision Phone: 07 3138 1794 Email: peter.corke@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Corke,_Peter.html Professor Peter Corke is Professor of Robotics & Control in the Science and Engineering Faculty at QUT.
Read more
Jonathan Roberts, Professor
Professor Jonathan Roberts Professor in Robotics Phone: 07 3138 2437 Email: jonathan.roberts@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Roberts,_Jonathan_M.html Professor Jonathan Roberts has been with ARCAA since its inception and in 2014 commenced at QUT as Professor in Robotics.
Read more
QUT_Square_CMYK
Professor Tristan Perez Professor in Robotics Phone: 07 3138 9076 Email: tristan.perez@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Perez,_Tristan.html Professor Tristan Perez joined QUT in 2014, when he was appointed Professor of Robotics at the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.
Read more
Dr Matthew Dunbabin, Principle Research Fellow
Dr Matthew Dunbabin Principal Research Fellow (Autonomous Systems) Phone: 07 3138 0392 Email: m.dunbabin@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Dunbabin,_Matthew.html Dr Matthew Dunbabin joined QUT in 2013 as a Principal Research Fellow in the Science and Engineering Faculty.
Read more
Associate Professor Ben Upcroft, Associate Professor in Electrical Engineering
Associate Professor Ben Upcroft Associate Professor in Electrical Engineering Phone: 07 3138 7158 Email: ben.upcroft@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Upcroft,_Ben.html Associate Professor Ben Upcroft joined QUT in 2011 and is the Discipline Leader for the Robotics and Autonomous Systems Discipline in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science in the Science and Engineering Faculty at QUT.
Read more
QUT_Square_CMYK
Associate Professor Jason J. Ford Associate Professor in Electrical Engineering Phone: 07 3138 2207 Email: j2.ford@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Ford,_Jason.html Dr Jason J. Ford is an Associate Professor in the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, within the Science and Engineering Faculty at QUT.
Read more
Adjunct Associate Professor Brendan Williams, Adjunct Associate Professor
Adjunct Associate Professor Brendan Williams Adjunct Associate Professor Phone: 07 3138 4225 Email: bp.williams@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Williams,_Brendan.html Adjunct Associate Professor Brendan Williams has over 28 years engineering experience in the aerospace industry for the RAAF and Boeing, working both in Australia and internationally.
Read more
QUT_Square_CMYK
Adjunct Associate Professor Terry Martin Adjunct Associate Professor Phone: 07 3138 5008 Email: tl.martin@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Martin,_Terrence.html Associate Professor Martin is an Adjunct Professor in the Speech, Audio, Image and Video Technologies group, within the Science and Engineering Faculty at QUT.
Read more
 

Professional Staff

Dr Dmitry Bratanov, Research Engineer
Dr Dmitry Bratanov Research Engineer Phone: 07 3138 9814 Email: dmitry.bratanov@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Bratanov,_Dmitry.html Dr Dmitry Bratanov joined ARCAA in 2013 to work on Project ResQu’s Stream 3 (a computer vision detect and avoid system). Dmitry’s interests are in integrated INS/GPS/vision based solutions, 4-dimensional UAS navigation, and environment identification.
Read more
Gavin Broadbent, UAV Technician
Gavin Broadbent UAV Technician Phone: 07 3138 9823 Email: gavin.broadbent@qut.edu.au Gavin Broadbent joined ARCAA in May 2013 as the UAV Technician, Launch Controller and now Maintenance controller. He brings extensive research and development experience in both radio control hobby and unmanned aerial vehicles. He is acknowledged as one of the world’s leading radio control pilots and is the holder of a CASA UAV controller’s certificate for both multirotor and fixed wing.
Read more
Dean Gilligan, Air Operations Manager
Dean Gilligan Air Operations Manager Phone: 07 3138 9818 Email: dean.gilligan@qut.edu.au Dean Gilligan joined ARCAA in  2014 as the Air Operations Manager in preparation for the awarding of the Unmanned Operator Certificate (UOC) and subsequent CASA appointed position of Chief UAV Controller for QUT/ARCAA.
Read more
Andrew Keir, Operations Manager
Andrew Keir Operations Manager Phone: 07 3138 1537 Email: a.keir@qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Keir,_Andrew.html Andrew Keir is the Operations Manager at ARCAA, with over a decade of experience in both R&D and management in the tertiary sector.
Read more
Dirk Lessner, Engineering Manager
Dirk Lessner Engineering Manager Phone: 07 3138 9819 Email: dirk.lessner@qut.edu.au UQ eSpace: http://espace.library.uq.edu.au/view/UQ:158042 Dirk Lessner joined ARCAA in 2012 as a Research Engineer, and in 2014 was promoted to Engineering Manager. In his role as Engineering Manager, Dirk is involved in leading and managing engineering support for ARCAA’s research projects and is an active member of the flight operations team, both for manned and unmanned activities.
Read more
Eduard Puig Garcia, ARCAA Research Engineer
Eduard Puig Garcia Research Engineer Phone: 07 3138 9808 Email: eduard.puiggarcia@qut.edu.au Eduard Puig Garcia holds a BEng and MEng in aeronautical engineering from Polytechnic University of Madrid (UPM). He joined ARCAA in 2014 as a Research Engineer and CASA certified remote pilot to contribute to UAV data acquisition campaigns and engineering support. Currently, as member of the remote sensing team, Ed is providing data analysis expertise in UAV-based remote sensing and working together with researchers and industry stakeholders to deliver high-impact research outcomes. Prior to ARCAA, Eduard gained experience in aircraft design at UPM, runway design at the Kansas City International Airport and worked in airline commercial research at Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, where he also completed postgraduate courses in machine learning, data mining and statistics.

PhD & Masters Students

Tommaso Francesco Villa
Tommaso Francesco Villa PhD Candidate Email: tf.villa@hdr.qut.edu.au Developing of a Novel Remote Sensing Approach to Quantify and Characterise Emissions from Combustion Sources.
Fernando Vanegas Alvarez
Fernando Vanegas Alvarez PhD Candidate Email: fernando.vanegasalvarez@hdr.qut.edu.au Researching safe navigation in uncertain and cluttered environments for unmanned aircraft using efficient Partially Observable Markov Decision Processes (POMDP).
Brendan (Ting) Chen
Ting (Brendan) Chen Joint PhD Cotutelle Email: tb.chen@hdr.qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Chen,_Ting.html Researching the Effects of Multiple Heterogeneous UAV Management through Capability and Autonomy Transparency.
 
QUT_Square_CMYK    
Xufeng Guo PhD Student Email: xufeng.guo@hdr.qut.edu.au QUT ePrints: http://eprints.qut.edu.au/view/person/Guo,_Xufeng.html Automated Scene Understanding from Aerial Imagery.